sparkling_2014_lightsEvery year brings new challenges and opportunities. Every year brings new hope to do things better, more successfully, and more effectively. To actually accomplish this requires honest reflection, planning, and a personal commitment to make it happen.

How are external factors, such as technology and the economy, changing the way business is done? How do those changes affect the learning and development function. How will we go about making changes to our daily activities and be a more effective business partner, regardless of our role?

One view of the present-day role of learning and development in the organization was generously provided by Jane Hart (click here). She offers both an explanation of the learning and performance needs of today’s workplace, as well as a roadmap for how to better meet the needs of its employees.

Although Jane provided this insight over a year ago, many of us look at our industry and see little changed. All too frequently the response to a performance need is a course. All too often “we” respond to a request for a new course with, “Yes,” rather than challenge that response or offer alternative solutions. That reticence to change was reflected in Jane Bozarth’s shared Pinterest board with numerous contributors, “L&D Responses to Change” (worth a look here).

So, as we move into 2014, what resolutions are you making in your role as a learning and performance professional? Join us on 2 January 2014 at 4:00 PM GMT / 11:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM PST and share your thoughts.


I originally wrote this post for chat2lrn but thought worth reposting on my site here. I’d love to hear your thoughts on good resolutions for L&D, so leave me a comment!

Thanks for reading!
@tomspiglanin

 


Comments

New Year Resolutions for Learning and Development — No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: